Lab Meeting Schedule

The Adams lab gathers once or twice a week for an hour or so, during which we dissect primary research articles in a journal club format, students present their recent experimental data to the group, and/or team-based experimental plans are discussed.

Spring 2023 Lab Meetings – Fridays, 1:30pm-3:00pm

Date Presenter Topic
27-Jan Team discussion Welcome Back!
3-Feb Lauren Project overview: Generating a PC12 cell model system to examine tau propagation
10-Feb Morgan Journal Club: Ahmadi et al. (2019) Aggregation of Microtubule Binding Repeats of Tau Protein is Promoted by Cu2+. ACS Omega. 4: 5356-66.
17-Feb Jannah Journal Club: Article to TBA
24-Feb Richard Journal Club: Article to TBA
3-Mar Michaela Journal Club: Article to TBA
10-Mar Molly Project overview: Using the split-luciferase system to evaluate amyloid-beta interactions with apoE and tau
17-Mar Lauren Journal Club: Article to TBA
24-Mar Morgan Project talk: Generating recombinant tau-P301L to examine effects of cooper on aggregation
31-Mar Jannah Project talk: Using the split luciferase system to examine effects of apoE isoforms and mutants on amyloid-beta aggregation
7-Apr Richard Project talk: Comparing the thermal stabilities of apoE isoforms and mutants by thermal shift assay
14-Apr N/A No meeting
21-Apr Michaela Project talk: Effects of apoE isoforms on PC12 cell neuritogenesis
28-Apr Molly Journal Club: Article to TBA

Fall 2022 Lab Meetings – Mondays, 2:00pm-3:00pm & Fridays, 2:00pm-3:15pm

Date Day Presenter Topic
9-Sep Fri Team discussion Welcome Back!
12-Sep Mon Team discussion Planning for the semester
16-Sep Fri Michaela Project/Data talk
19-Sep Mon Team discussion Planning for SfN 2022 Poster
23-Sep Fri Richard Practice talk for Summer ATP Symposium
26-Sep Mon Team discussion Planning for SfN 2022 Poster
30-Sep Fri Summer ATP Symposium 2:00-3:00pm – Richard’s oral presentation; 3:00pm-4:00pm – Jannah’s poster presentation; 5:00-5:45pm – Richard’s poster presentation
3-Oct Mon Team discussion Experimental planning
7-Oct Fri Jannah Islam et al. (2022) Presenilin Is Essential for ApoE Secretion, a Novel Role of Presenilin Involved in Alzheimer’s Disease Pathogenesis. J. Neuroscience. 42(8): 1574.
10-Oct Mon N/A No meeting – Holiday
14-Oct Fri Team discussion Experimental planning
17-Oct Mon Team discussion Experimental planning
21-Oct Fri Team discussion Experimental planning
24-Oct Mon Team discussion Experimental planning
28-Oct Fri Morgan  Yan et al. (2022) X-linked ubiquitin-specific peptidase 11 increases tauopathy vulnerability in women. Cell. 185: 3913.
31-Oct Mon Team discussion Experimental planning
4-Nov Fri    
7-Nov Mon Team discussion Final planning for SfN
11-Nov Fri    
14-Nov Mon N/A No meeting – SfN 2022, San Diego CA
18-Nov Fri    
21-Nov Mon Team SfN Poster Review
25-Nov Fri Thanksgiving Break  
28-Nov Mon Morgan Journal Club
2-Dec Fri Brook Journal Club
5-Dec Mon Richard Journal Club
9-Dec Fri Lauren Journal Club
12-Dec Mon Morgan Tau Project